Following the 2nd Futsal World Championship in Hong Kong in November 1992, when the Brazilian team again won in convincing style, the FIFA Futsal Committee decided to modernise the existing Laws of the Game by making timely amendments. A working party comprising members of the Committee set about revising and rewording the Laws of the Game. This edition is the outcome of this work.

What are the basic changes?

The Committee decided to replace the linesman with an assistant referee. Previously much precious time had been lost using only one referee and now the game has grown in appeal through more speed.

The goalkeeper's function has been restricted and the five-minute period of reduced numbers after a player's expulsion has now been reduced to two minutes. Furthermore, stricter disciplinary sanctions have been introduced for the "professional" foul and deliberate hands to prevent a goal.

Further examination of the ball itself led to a decision to reduce the bounce by means of a technical adjustment. The circumference of the ball has remained the same.

A significant innovation is the use of accumulated fouls. This rule has been applied very successfully in a number of countries. It demands a positive and fair attitude to play resulting in fewer fouls being committed, more goal opportunities being created and actual goals scored. Futsal has consequently become more attractive to watch - something that is in the interest of all the fans of this sport.

The 3rd Futsal World Championship will take place in Spain from 24 November to 8 December 1996, a country considered as a major promoter of the game of indoor football. All the changes will be applied for the first time at this championship.

The aim of the Futsal Committee is to further and enhance the game and it is also one of my personal objectives. The progress witnessed in the evolution of the game is forging ahead, as planned. Over the years, we have been perfecting the Laws to satisfy the needs of all the adherents of this type of football. Although, there is still a lot to do, we know that we are on the right track.

Finally, I wish to thank the Futsal Committee for its conscientious and competent work in preparing these Laws. As President of FIFA, I shall continue to dedicate time and energy to the permanent development of futsal all over the world.

Dr. João Havelange
President of FIFA
September 1995

President: Dr. João Havelange (Brazil)
General Secretary: Joseph S. Blatter (Switzerland)
Address: FIFA House, 11 Hitzigweg
8030 Zurich, Switzerland
Telephone: +41 (1) 384-9595
Telefax: +41 (1) 384-9696
Telex: 817-204 fifa ch

Chairman: Dr. Michel D'Hooghe (Belgium)
Deputy Chairman: Isaac David Sasso Sasso (Costa Rica)
Members: Tom Van der Hulst (Netherlands)
Joan Camps i Reig (Spain)
Elio Giulivi (Italy)
Alvaro Melo Filho (Brazil)
Lars-Åke Lagrell (Sweden)
Alexander J.C. Para (USA)
Januario D'Alessio (Brazil)
Alfredo Asfura (Chile)
Samuel Nana Brew-Butler (Ghana)
Dariush Mostafavi (Iran)
Georges Vernet (France)